Pacing and Productivity

When Do We Stop?

Hi there! The month of April has come to an end, marking the completion of the fourth month of the year. It's hard to believe that we are already one-third of the way through 2023. Today, I'd like to discuss my current struggle with pacing and productivity. But before that...

Weekly Inventory Check:

Third of the year has already gone by, which means it's time to take stock of how you've spent your time over the last four months. Are you satisfied with what you've achieved? Is there anything you'd like to add or remove from your routine? Take some time to reflect on these questions as you conduct your monthly review of April, as we've been doing since the beginning of the year. Check in with yourself and see if any of the goals you set for the year have been accomplished.

Pacing and Productivity

Currently, I find myself in a bit of a bind. On one hand, my work is going well, and I am consistently learning and growing in my field. However, I also have a constant feeling that I need to do more in this rapidly developing industry, or I risk being left behind. I've already signed up to teach Data at a university this year and work with two training companies to educate students and employees in Data Science.

Despite these commitments, it doesn't feel like enough. I've recently been discussing potential collaborations with another AI Training company, and a local university has approached me about coaching their students and staff on Data Literacy. While I love the busy-ness and opportunity to teach and train others, I also have a baby on the way in just two months. I can't help but wonder if this is healthy and what is driving me to keep taking on more.

To be honest, I'm not entirely sure. I am trying to learn as I go and understand what is motivating me to take on these opportunities. My current hypothesis is that I genuinely enjoy teaching and training, and I don't want to give up on a field I have spent half a decade building proficiency in. With that in mind, I am trying to find a way to balance both aspects, to continue gaining industry experience in data while also training and teaching others.

I believe that what I am feeling is not unique to me. In this age of continuous education and rapid technological progress, many of us feel uneasy. It could be due to the fear of being replaced or simply the worry of being left behind as the world moves on. This is not limited to any particular field. Sometimes, people compare themselves to their peers and worry about falling behind, or they worry that they are not as efficient as the people they associate with.

As someone who advocates for efficiency and productivity, I believe that if something can be outsourced or automated, it should be. However, I also believe that this constant cycle of learning and growing can create a negative feedback loop. As they say, too much of anything can be a bad thing.

So let us all take a deep breath and realize that the world will keep moving forward, whether we like it or not. Running after it won't help; it will only add more stress to our lives. Instead, let us find a balance between growing, learning, and living our lives as they are.

What are your thoughts? Shoot me an email or comment below, would love to hear your thoughts!

Want More?

It's interesting that there is a term for it - "Toxic Productivity." I wasn't aware of this term before, but it seems to describe the constant drive to be productive and achieve more, even if it comes at the cost of our mental and physical health.

Comparing ourselves to others is something that has been around for as long as humans have existed, I believe. This is how we can try to reduce it.

Read of the Week

While writing this post, I suddenly remembered the book "Zen and the Art of Motorcycle Maintenance." The book covers various themes related to philosophy, self, and relationships. It tells the story of an individual who went through electrotherapy to change some of his habits, but that side of him started creeping back into his life. I believe it is a good book to read if you want to reconcile your toxic productive side with the more important and happier side of you.

Thoughts to Leave you With

It can be challenging to acknowledge that something is wrong, let alone find a solution for it. Sometimes, it's helpful to take a step back, reflect, and just be in the moment, rather than immediately trying to find solutions. I hope you can find some time this weekend to simply be and forget about everything else.

Reply

or to participate.