Emotions and Processing

Constrasting Experiences

Hi there! March started off on a high note, but we've encountered a few obstacles along the way. One issue we've been facing recently is illness, which seems to be affecting those around us. Before diving into the details, let's start with our usual routine.

Weekly Inventory Check:

The events of the past week have made me realize that time is a tricky concept. As young individuals full of energy, we often fail to realize that we are gradually approaching an age where our loved ones, particularly the elderly, tend to fall ill more frequently. This is a moment we should take to catch up and check in with those closest to us. Regret is not a feeling anyone wants to live with.

Emotions and Processing

It has been a challenging week for us, as we faced an emergency in my family. This experience has made us realize how differently people process emotions and that there is no one right way to do so. However, the continuous stream of bad news this week has been overwhelming. Thankfully, the emergency on my side has been resolved and things are beginning to look up. The relief and optimism that flooded my emotions was visible on my face, prompting my wife to inquire about my ability to switch between emotions so quickly. This is a big deal for her, as she takes time to process her feelings. However, I have always considered myself to be a "glass half full" kind of guy, in general.

After the emergency had passed, my family and I began to take the situation lightly, and even joked with each other about it. We discussed the next steps to take in order to prevent similar emergencies from occurring, and simply moved on with our lives. However, my wife needed more time to process everything and return to normal. She commented that my family and I are "bipolarly positive," although I wasn't entirely sure what she meant by that. I believe she was suggesting that we were too quick to become positive and may not have been processing our emotions in a healthy manner. On the other hand, I believe that we were simply living our lives one step at a time. When something happens, we feel it completely, and once it's over, we move on completely. It sounds strange when I say it aloud, but I don't think there is one right way to process emotions. My family and I have one approach, while my wife has another, and there are countless other ways as well.

What are your thoughts on emotions and processing?  Shoot me an email or comment below! 

Want More?

Traumatic events can be challenging to process.

The illness of a loved one can have a profound impact on the entire family. Therefore, it is crucial to prioritize the process of emotional processing.

What exactly does "processing emotions" mean?

Read of the Week

My apologies, but I do not have a recommendation for this week as I did not have an opportunity to read much. However, I hope to have a recommendation for you next time.

Thoughts to Leave you With

Emotions are tricky, just like communication, there is no one way to show emotions. When there is variation in anything, there is bound to be discomfort. You might not know what to say, what to feel or how the other person is feeling. In the end, we are all a work in progress, be it with habits, work, or emotions. We just need to keep putting in an effort to understand ourselves better so we can better care for the people around us.

Reply

or to participate.